Board of Directors

The officers are elected to a one-year term and directors are appointed for a three-year term at the Annual Business Meeting in June. Residents and Students are elected by their peers at the Missouri Reception held during National Conference in August. AAFP Delegates are selected by the Nominating Committee to serve a three-year term and ratified at the Annual Business Meeting.

Executive Commission

Board Chair
Peter Koopman, MD, FAAFP (Columbia)

Kathleen Eubanks-Meng, DO (Blue Springs)

Mark Schabbing, MD (Perryville)

Sudeep Ross, MD (Kansas City)

Jim Stevermer, MD, FAAFP (Fulton)

Board of Directors

To use the Find Feature, Press Ctrl + F and type the name of the county.

District 1
Counties: Atchison, Nodaway, Worth, Harrison, Mercer, Holt, Andrew, Gentry, Daviess, Grundy, Linn, Buchanan, DeKalb, Caldwell, Livingston, Carroll, Platte, Clinton, Clay

Director – John Burroughs, MD (Kansas City)
Alternate – Jared Dirks, MD (Kansas City)

District 2
Counties: Putnam, Schuyler, Scotland, Clark, Sullivan, Adair, Knox, Lewis, Macon, Shelby, Marion, Chariton, Randolph, Monroe, Ralls, Pike

Director – Lisa Mayes, DO (Macon)
Alternate – Vacant

District 3
Counties: City of St. Louis, St. Louis County, St. Charles

Director – Kara Mayes, MD (St. Louis)
Director – Emily Doucette, MD (St. Louis)
Alternate – Dawn Davis, MD (St. Louis)

District 4
Counties: Lincoln, Warren, Gasconade, Franklin

Director – Jennifer Scheer, MD, FAAFP (Gerald)
Alternate – Kristen Weidle, MD (Washington)

District 5
Counties: Howard, Boone, Audrain, Cooper, Callaway, Montgomery, Morgan, Moniteau, Cole, Osage, Camden, Miller

Director – Lucas Buffaloe, MD (Columbia)
Alternate – Vacant

District 6
Counties: Ray, Lafayette, Saline, Cass, Johnson, Pettis, Bates, Henry, Benton, Vernon, St. Clair, Hickory, Cedar

Director – Jamie Ulbrich, MD, FAAFP (Marshall)
Alternate – David Pulliam, DO (Higginsville)

District 7
Counties: Jackson

Director – Wael Mourad, MD (Kansas City)
Director – Afsheen Patel, MD (Kansas City)
Alternate – Kelsey Ryan, MD (Kansas City)

District 8
Counties: Barton, Dade, Polk, Dallas, Laclede, Jasper, Lawrence, Greene, Webster, Wright, Newton, Christian, McDonald, Barry, Stone, Taney

Director – Mark Woods, MD (Ozark)
Alternate – Charlie Rasmussen, DO, FAAFP (Branson)

District 9
Counties: Maries, Pulaski, Phelps, Crawford, Dent, Texas, Shannon, Howell, Douglas, Ozark, Oregon

Director – Patricia Benoist, MD (Houston)
Alternate – Vacant

District 10
Counties: Jefferson, Washington, Ste. Genevieve, St. Francois, Iron, Reynolds, Carter, Ripley, Butler, Wayne, Madison, Perry, Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, Scott, Stoddard, New Madrid, Mississippi, Dunklin, Pemiscot

Director – Deanne Siemer, MD (Jackson)
Alternate – Vicki Roberts, MD (Sikeston)


Director – Kanika Turner, MD (SLU)
Alternate – Alicia Brooks, MD (SLU)


Director – Emily Gray (UMKC)
Alternate – John Heafner, MSPH (SLU)


Delegate – Todd Shaffer, MD, FAAFP (Kansas City)
Delegate – Keith Ratcliff, MD, FAAFP (Washington)
Alternate – Kate Lichtenberg, DO, FAAFP (Kirkwood)
Alternate – Peter Koopman, MD, FAAFP (Columbia)

How the Missouri Chapter Influences AAFP Policies

Two members from the Missouri AFP serve as delegates to the AAFP Congress of Delegates, which is the organization’s policy-making body. Missouri Academy members may submit resolutions on issues that they would like to see addressed. Missouri Academy leadership determines whether resolutions should be submitted to the AAFP Congress of Delegates.