Shaffer Presented Soaring Eagle Award

PRESS RELEASE – For Immediate Release
For More Information Contact:
Laurie Bernskoetter
573-635-0830 (office)

June 20, 2013 – Shaffer Presented Soaring Eagle Award

Todd Shaffer, MD, MBA, FAAFP, Lee’s Summit, Missouri, Past President and Board Chair of the Missouri Academy of Family Physicians, passed the gavel to new Board Chair, Kate Lichtenberg, DO, MPH, FAAFP, of Kirkwood, Missouri at the 65th Annual Scientific Assembly of the Missouri Academy of Family Physicians on June 8 in Lake Ozark, Missouri.  Dr. Lichtenberg presented Dr. Shaffer with the “Soaring Eagle Award,” an award presented to past presidents of the Academy who have completed their tenure in leadership.

Dr. Shaffer is a Professor of Medicine at UMKC School of Medicine.  He is the program director of the UMKC Family Medicine Residency at Truman Medical Center Lakewood which is one of the largest family medicine residency programs in the country.  He practices medicine in Kansas City, Missouri.  Leaving the MAFP Leadership, he is now President-elect of the Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors which is the national membership organization of the directors of family medicine residency programs.

About the Missouri Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP)

Founded in 1947, the MAFP is a non-profit professional medical society of more than 1,900 physicians, residents and medical students across the state.  Approximately one in four of all office visits are made to family physicians. That is 228 million office visits each year — nearly 84 million more than the next largest medical specialty. Today, family physicians provide more care for America’s underserved and rural populations than any other medical specialty. Headquartered in Jefferson City, the MAFP is dedicated to optimizing the health of patients, families, and communities of Missouri through patient care, advocacy, education, and research.  The MAFP is a constituent chapter of the AAFP, one of the largest national medical organizations, representing 110,600 physicians and medical students nationwide.  It is the only medical society devoted solely to primary care. The AAFP is headquartered in Leawood, Kansas.