Lichtenberg Presented Soaring Eagle Award

PRESS RELEASE – For Immediate Release
For More Information Contact:
Laurie Bernskoetter
573-635-0830 (office)

June 20, 2014 – Lichtenberg Presented Soaring Eagle Award

Kate Lichtenberg, DO, MPH, FAAFP, Kirkwood, Missouri, Past President and Board Chair of the Missouri Academy of Family Physicians, passed the gavel to new Board Chair, William Fish, of Lake Ozark, Missouri at the 66th Annual Scientific Assembly of the Missouri Academy of Family Physicians on June 7, 2014 in Lake Ozark, Missouri.  Dr. Fish presented Dr. Lichtenberg with the “Soaring Eagle Award,” an award given to past presidents of the Academy who have completed their tenure in leadership.

Dr. Lichtenberg earned her undergraduate degree from Truman State University. She attended medical school at A.T. Still University – Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine, and earned her MPH and public health/general preventive medical board certification from Saint Louis University. She is currently the physician director of Enhanced Personal Health Care at Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield in Missouri and resides in Kirkwood with her husband, Mike and their two children. Dr. Lichtenberg has been a member of the MAFP since 1997.

About the Missouri Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP)
Founded in 1947, the MAFP is a non-profit professional medical society of more than 2,000 physicians, residents and medical students across the state.  Approximately one in four of all office visits are made to family physicians. That is nearly 214 million office visits each year — nearly 74 million more than the next largest medical specialty. Today, family physicians provide more care for America’s underserved and rural populations than any other medical specialty. Headquartered in Jefferson City, the MAFP is dedicated to optimizing the health of patients, families, and communities of Missouri through patient care, advocacy, education, and research.  The MAFP is a constituent chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), representing 115,900 physicians and medical students nationwide.  It is the only medical society devoted solely to primary care. The AAFP is headquartered in Leawood, Kansas.