An outstanding, caring, family physician in your community deserves the title “Missouri Family Physician of the Year.” The Missouri Academy supports over 2,400 active members in the workforce – doing extraordinary things every day. You know them, and we would like to acknowledge them. The Missouri Academy annually solicits nominations for this prestigious award. Nominations may be made by the public, as well as by physicians. Nominees must meet the eligibility requirements to be considered for this award. The Missouri Academy begins seeking nominations in December and will accept submissions up to the deadline of Monday, February 3, 2020. The winner will be notified in April and honored during the Awards and Installation Ceremony at the Show Me Family Medicine Conference in June.

Click Here to Submit a Nomination for the 2020 Family Physician of the Year

Judging Criteria

The Family Physician of the Year Award recognizes a physician who:

  • Provides his/her patients with compassionate, comprehensive and caring family medicine on a continuing basis.
  • Is directly and effectively involved in community affairs and activities that enhance the quality of his/her community.
  • Provides a credible role model, both professionally and personally, to his/her community, to other health professionals, and to residents and medical students.
  • Can effectively represent MAFP and the specialty of Family Medicine by presenting a good public image.
  • Exemplifies the family physician’s leadership role in improving the health of our state.

Eligibility Requirements (MAFP Staff will verify) Each nominee must:

  • Be in active practice
  • Spend at least 50 percent of his/her time in direct patient care
  • Be a MAFP member in good standing
  • Be board certified in family medicine and/or an AAFP Fellow
  • Be in practice in Missouri at least ten years since completing residency training


Members of the MAFP Board of Directors, members of the MAFP Member Services Commission, and previous recipients of the award are not eligible. Previous nominees may be nominated again.

Nomination and Selection Process

  • Any member of the MAFP or the public may submit nominations. A Nomination Form explaining why you feel this person deserves the award be completed and submitted by the deadline.
  • Include a description of what characteristics make this family physician stand out among his/her colleagues, using the judging criteria listed above as guidance.
  • You may also include at least 3, but no more than 5, letters of support, and no more than ten (10) pages total may be submitted.
  • The MAFP Staff will screen all nominees for eligibility and finalists will be asked to submit a CV, photo, a personal statement (not to exceed 2 pages).
  • The MAFP Member Services Commission shall review all finalists’ materials and select the top candidate to present to the MAFP Executive Commission for final approval.
  • The awardees will be honored at the MAFP Annual Meeting in June.

MAFP reserves the right to use discretion whether or not to award a nominee annually.

Past Recipients of this Award

2019           Beth Zimmer, MD, St. Louis, MO

2018           David Campbell, MD, St. Louis, MO

2017           Bruce Preston, MD, West Plains, MO

2016           Scott Griswold, MD, Eldon, MO

2015           Arthur Freeland, MD, Kirksville, MO

2014           David Pulliam, DO, Higginsville, MO

2013           R. Aron Burke, MD, Rock Port, MO

2011           Gene H. Leroux, MD, Doniphan, MO

2010           Curtis Long, MD, Butler, MO

2009          Brian Neely, MD, Hollister, MO

2008          Daniel Purdom, MD, Independence, MO

2007          Richard C. Price, MD, Harrisonville, MO

2006          James Turner, MD, Washington, MO

2004          Donald E. Philgreen, MD, Kansas City, MO

2002          Carl M. Myers, MD, Platte City, MO

2000          Lynn R. Shaffer, MD, Branson, MO

1998           David W. Glover, MD, Warrensburg, MO

1996           Thomas W. Carroll, MD, Lamar, MO

1995           Ben Koon, MD†, Bolivar, MO

1994           W. Wayne Boydston, MD, Odessa, MO

1993           David O. Barbe, MD, Mountain Grove, MO

1992           Joe A. Wall, MD, Houstonia, MO

1991           James Campbell, MD, Macon, MO